

## **Gateway Determination**

Planning proposal (Department Ref: PP\_2019\_HAWKE\_002\_00): to amend Hawkesbury Local Environmental Plan 2012 to allow the subject land, Lot 49 DP 7565, 98 Bells Lane, Kurmond, to be subdivided into four large, rural-residential lots consisting of two 4.000m<sup>2</sup> lots, one 1ha lot, one 2ha lot.

I, the Deputy Secretary, Greater Sydney, Place and Infrastructure, at the Department of Planning, Industry and Environment, as delegate of the Minister for Planning and Public Spaces, have determined under section 3.34(2) of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Act 1979 (the Act) that an amendment to the Hawkesbury Local Environmental Plan (LEP) 2012 to allow the subject land, Lot 49 DP 7565, 98 Bells Lane, Kurmond, to be subdivided into four large, rural-residential lots consisting of two 4,000m<sup>2</sup> lots, one 1ha lot, one 2ha lot should not proceed for the following reasons:

- 1. The proposal contains unresolved inconsistencies with Section 9.1 Directions, 1.2 Rural Zones and 4.4 Planning for Bushfire Protection.
- 2. The proposal contains unresolved inconsistencies with State Environmental Planning Policy (Koala Habitat Protection) 2019 and State Regional Environmental Plan No 20 – Hawkesbury-Nepean River.
- The proposal does not give effect to the Western City District Plan, in particular 3. Planning Priority W17 Better managing rural areas.
- 4. The proposal is not supported by an updated local strategic planning framework, including sufficient references in Hawkesbury Council's draft Local Strategic Planning Statement to support this proposal, an updated Rural Lands strategy and Housing Strategy.
- 5. The proposal does not adequately demonstrate the site has no potential to accommodate agricultural uses under its current zoning.
- 6. The proposal does not adequately demonstrate strategic or site-specific merit.

Dated 51 day of May

2020.

Brett Whitworth Deputy Secretary, Greater Sydney, **Place and Infrastructure** Department of Planning, Industry and Environment Delegate of the Minister for Planning and Public Spaces